Live RAMEN Talk and Q+A

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

May 31st, 2020 @ 1:00 pm - 1:30 pm EDT

Cost: Free

Details »

Live RAMEN Talk and Q+A With Chef TAKAHASHI Ryu and Chef Matt Kimura

Live RAMEN Talk and Q+A With Chef TAKAHASHI Ryu and Chef Matt Kimura

Sunday May 31, 2020 @ 1:00 PM (EDT)

Atlantic (ADT) 2:00 P.M.
Quebec/Ottawa/Ontario (EDT) 1:00 P.M.
Manitoba (CDT) 12:00 P.M.
Alberta (MDT) 11:00 A.M.
BC (PDT) 10:00 A.M.

In conjunction with the online screening of RAMEN HEADS

If you missed it, watch the live discussion here on the Japan Foundation, Toronto youtube channel!

Join us for a lively talk and discussion about ramen between owner – Chef TAKAHASHI Ryu, of RYUS Noodle Bar and food stylist – Chef Matt Kimura. Find out some of the secret ingredients and philosophy behind the ramen of one of Canada’s most celebrated ramen!

The live talk will be followed by a short Q+A. Please post your questions in the youtube chat.

Watch the live discussion online here >

We’d love to hear your feedback!


Show About Chef Ryuichiro Takahashi, proprietor of Toronto’s RYUS Noodle Bar

Cooking has always been a passion for Chef Takahashi — graduating with a business degree and working in a number of kitchens in Japan, he always dreamed of opening his own place.

Chef Takahashi first arrived in Vancouver to study trade and marketing, essential skills for his future path as owner chef of a ramen restaurant. Upon immigrating to Canada, he then moved to Toronto where he realized his dream of striking out on his own.

Ramen is my favourite, so that’s why I focused on that,” he explained.

Last year, Takahashi was asked to open a stall at the Shin-Yokohama Ramen Museum in Japan — the first Canadian to be recognized in those hallowed halls of ramen honour. Chef Takahashi was the first Canadian invitee to set up shop in New York City’s popular Ramen Lab — an exclusive boutique stand-up eatery featuring the world’s best examples of the ubiquitous dish, and Japan’s favourite food. (Source: Bryan Passifiume, Toronto SUN)

RYUS Noodle Bar

@RYUS_Noodle_bar

Show About About Chef Matt Kimura

Matthew Kimura is a Food Stylist artist specializing in commercial broadcast, print, and online content. Beginning is passion for for working learning from his father in a family Japanese restaurant Ginko. Over the years Matthew worked in many different avenues with food from restaurants, Food TV shows, recipe development until he began to focus on Food Styling.

https://instagram.com/p/tYEoDCpJzt/

People can follow him at:
Instagram: kimura_sensei
Email: matthew@kimurafood.com
Website: kimurafood.com

Presented by:

The Japan Foundation, Toronto and the Embassy of Japan in Canada, Consulate General of Japan in Vancouver, Consulate General of Japan in Toronto, Consulate General of Japan in Calgary and the Consulate General of Japan in Montreal

Community partner:

 


Details

Starts:
May 31st, 2020 @ 1:00 pm
Ends:
May 31st, 2020 @ 1:30 pm
Cost:
Free
Language:
English
Event Category:

Organizer

The Japan Foundation, Toronto
Phone:
416-966-1600
Email:
info@jftor.org
Website:
www.jftor.org